Thursday, March 26, 2009

The big news in my life right now is the expected birth of my first niece on my side of the family. It will be the first time one of my siblings has had a child. (My husband and I have three kids - age 6 yrs, 4 yrs, and 6 months.) I am the older sister. My brother is two years younger than I. When I was 16 my parents had one last baby, my sister.

As the big sister, one of the fun parts of getting married as well as of the process of pregnancy, childbirth, and raising kids is imaging share some of your experiences and hopefully a little wisdom when your siblings travel down those roads. So far that has not happened for me. Both siblings got married after little planning and I was not involved. And now with baby Pips due, I haven't really been involved in the pregnancy at all. Maybe I should start a blog to share all the little tidbits of advice or info that I would give to them. Such as, Costco is by far the best place to buy diapers. I have compared the Kirkland brand in quality to a top brand and that has led me to believe they are made by the same company. AndI have compared prices even when other places have sales - still can't beat prices.

Are you cool enough to call?

I am all hooked-up, like most of my generation and certainly the one behind us. I have my cell phone with me at all times, for more texting than actual calls. I am not big on being called on my cell phone. I mean, for a very select few people who are my inner circle, which is mostly comprised of family. They can call me on my cell at any time. But when I am off to ballet and then Tae Kwon Do I do not have time to talk to any one of a hundred dumb calls we get on the house phone. And if it weren't for those calls I wouldn't even have a cell phone.

I remember when the mss public got pagers. It so completely irritated me because people felt like it was ok to interrupt you, regardless of what you were doing, and that you were somehow obligated to calling them right back. Like someone I knew who would page me when I was out on a date to get me to bring in ice cream or equally trivial item to her. What in the heck is that about anyway?

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Do you know you're going crazy?

What I wonder is this: do crazy people know that they are really going crazy? I mean, we all have off little thoughts. Using a suicidal person as an example. What is going through his/her head as they begin to plan and then start to carry out their suicidal plan. Do they realize, "Oh crap, I'm freakin' suicidal." Does it begin with benign minor thoughts of "This day suck" and "I wish I were just dead" but not really meaning it. Does it continue from there. Like the thought of suicidal crosses you mind and you realize that this time you actually gave it a little real thought. I don't know - maybe the fact that I can't seem to verbalize what I want to say is proof that I ma going crazy. Well, I guess if that happens this blog will become more interesting...  

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Migraines or Tension?

Ok, what it the deal with my head? Seriously! I have headaches like every 7 to 10 days and each one last 1 to 3 days each. My poor babies are constantly being dragged to yet another dr appt for mommy. I hate it! And I hate that nobody can help. Nobody can prevent them, no dr can tell me what triggers them, and no one can stop it once it starts. Ugh! Ugh! Ugh!